The Wales & Western Branch

The members of Pipeline Industries Guild’s Wales and Western Branch cover the whole of Wales and the south western part of England – from Holyhead to Swindon and to Land’s End.  

The Branch’s activities are centred in Bath/Bristol. A programme of talks on a wide range of topics is held throughout the winter months and normally includes joint meetings with other professional groups (including the Institute of Gas Engineers and Managers, the Chartered Institution of Water and Environmental Management and the Institute Of Water).  These meetings are normally at Wessex Water’s head office at Claverton Down, Bath.

The Branch arranges a Golf Day every year and holds its annual dinner on the first Friday in December in Bristol.  In addition to providing excellent networking opportunities with a wide range of other members of the pipeline industry (e.g. clients, designers, consultants, contractors, etc) , these events raise significant sums for local charities. 

Further events are held throughout the year, one of the most popular is the paper competition run by the Young Professionals is started over the summer and presented in October. We are also involved with Innovation days, site visits and talks with other teams, please feel free to contact the Guild for any further information.

Wales and Western Committee 2017-2018

Branch Chairman -  Alexandra Cornish, Wessex Water - email

Deputy Chairman -  Simon Ayley, Wessex Water - email

2nd Deputy Chairman- 

Secretary and Treasurer - Katie Young, Wessex Water - email

Utilities Panel RepMatthew Bridge, Balfour Beatty - email

Dinner & Events - Alexandra Cullum, Wessex Water - email

Communications RepSimon Ayley, Wessex Water - email 

YP Rep - Laura Mann, Wessex Water - email

Past Chairman -  Ed  Bunn, Skanska - email


Paul Cumpstone, National Grid - email

John Thompson, Wessex Water - email

Ruth Allen, RSK - email

Barry Hayward, Wessex Water - email

Kate Higgins, Steve Vick - email

Rachel Taylor, Arcadis - email

YPN Committee 2017-2018

Rachel Taylor, Chairman (Arcadis)

Tom Roberts, Deputy Chairman (Costain)

Roz Trotman, 2nd Deputy Chairman (Wessex Water)

Alex Cullum, Secretary (Wessex Water)

Stephanie Swadden, Treasurer (Dalcour Maclaren)

Aneta Janiec, Events (Wessex Water)

Laura Mann, Paper Competition (Wessex Water)

Tom Shenton, Social (Mouchel)

James Buckingham, Member (Mouchel)

Konrad Karlsen, Member (Land & Marine)

Charlie Overs,  Member (Bruton Knowles)