Onshore Panel

The Onshore Technical Panel is made up of a group of Pipeline Industry experts with experience in the manufacture, operation, maintenance, design, construction, commissioning, decommissioning and health, safety, security and environmental aspects of pipeline engineering. Its members include practitioners, managers, legal representatives and consultants. The primary roles of the forum are as follows:

- To act as a focal point for technical issues related to pipelines on behalf of Guild Members and helping in communicating on these to members (by e-mail and on the Guild’s website, by giving presentations at conferences and seminars and by arranging appropriate technical visits for Guild members)

- To maintain a matrix showing the network of expertise available to the Panel

- To meet on a regular basis and discuss current areas of concern to members (including pipeline standard, safety, security, etc)

- To propose solutions to technical questions and issues both for individual members and for the Guild’s Board

- To provide information to allow lobbying of appropriate bodies on any pipeline-related issues

- To liaise with the Utilities and Offshore Panels on areas of common interest and to invite their representatives to attend the Onshore Panel

- To propose topics and assist with the organisation of annual Technical Forums on subjects of key interest to Guild Members

- To consider recent incidents from around the world and to assess whether the UK pipeline industry is taking sufficient precautions to prevent similar occurrences and to prevent damage – the most urgent of these is still the matter of establishing a central data reference system for all underground pipelines, cables and equipment (such as that being proposed by NUAG)

- To consider any forthcoming changes to legislation and standards and how that may impact on members

- To review presentations from external experts such as the Health & Safety Executive on possible future issues or areas of interest with a view to their inclusion in future Technical Forums

Onshore Panel Committee:

Panel Chairman: Matthew Sumerling, National Grid - Email 

Panel Deputy Chairman:  Martyn James, Murphy Group - Email

Panel Secretary: 

Onshore Panel Young Professional Rep: 

Matthew Sumerling (National Grid)

E-mail: matthew.sumerling@uk.ngrid.com

- Onshore Panel Comms Rep

Name: Brian Spencer

E-mail: bpspencer@aviontsl.com

- Past Onshore Panel Chairman

Name: Andrew Jackson  (Fisher German)

E-mail: andrew.jackson@fishergerman.co.uk


Committee Members

Committee Members

Alex Wise - Corrosion Service Company Europe - awise@corrosionservice.co.uk

Bill Hughes - Consultant - WKH6071450@aol.com

Bruce McCullough - Consultant - BruceWMcCullough@aol.com

David Willis - RSK - dwillis@rsk.co.uk

David Yapp - Cranfield University - d.yapp@cranfield.ac.uk

Dick Gray - Richard.gray@hobiedick.co.uk

Graham Duncan - Fluor - graham.duncan@fluor.com

Graham Wilcock - Wilcock Consulting - graham@wilcock.co.uk

Paul Clayton - PII - Paul.Clayton@ge.com

Richard Espiner - BP - EspineR@bp.com

Roger Sargalogo - Field Fisher Waterhouse - rjps@ffwlaw.com

Russell Dearden - Corus - russell.dearden@corusgroup.com

Scott McCann - Corus - scott.mccann@corusgroup.com

Simon Tomlinson - Mouchel Parkman - simon.tomlinson@mouchelparkman.com

Steve Whipp - United Utilities - Steve.Whipp@uuplc.co.uk 

Martyn James - Murphy Group - martynjames@murphygroup.co.uk

Rob Domeney - RSK - rdomeney@rsk.co.uk